K-dramas that flopped from the beginning

“Hello, my beautiful readers. I am writing again to you, even in these times of incertitude, sadness and restlessness. Now, more than usual, I threw myself in any fictional universe, so I can reduce the level of anxiety I felt during the past few days.

There are so many K-dramas released since the Hallyu wave became a true tsunami, but that doesn’t mean that every production is worth watching too. Today I will write about some K-dramas that were either bad, boring or uninteresting to me, I couldn’t even get past the first two episodes, or, even worse, I couldn’t even finish the first episode.

This is not a top, they are all on the same level for me.

A piece of your mind

I started watching this drama for two reasons: Jung Hae In and because it has only 12 episodes. That number should have been an obvious enough sign not to watch it. I could barely manage to watch the first two episodes. It felt like an eternity too.

Very slow-paced and confusing plot, plain characters… In other words, a true pain to watch. I think this is one of those dramas that you either love or hate. There’s no in between. For me it’s the latter one. Too bad, the actors are good, but not here.

It’s strange for me to say that a TvN drama is bad, since most of their projects are very famous and popular… I guess each rule has an exception, right?

Sky Castle

imdb.com

I think that one of the reasons this drama just left me cold and bored is because I decided to watch it after Penthouse. Even though it’s been months since Penthouse 3 ended, Sky Castle did not win my attention at all. I just left after the first episode, with no regrets. The characters are not as interesting to motivate you to continue with their story, and the first episode doesn’t really try to convince you that there’s something more, something better coming.

Maybe I will give it a chance in the near future, since Punch was one huge surprise after I decided to make a sacrifice and watch the second and third episode. But I am still very skeptical. I also don’t get why people praise it so much, it felt boring from the first minutes. It is also always compared to Penthouse, but, allow be to say that, there’s no reason to compare these two. One’s level is higher that the other one. I’ll let you guess which one is higher. A little clue: Definitely not Sky Castle.

When talking about family drama, Graceful Family did a better job, even if the main male lead should not be in that series. He’s plain as heck.

Memories of Alhambra

K-popherald.com

This K-drama made such a fuss online even before it was released. Because, hellooo, we’re talking about Hyun Bin here. Right? And then there’s EXO’s Chanyeol too.

I only decided to give it a try a few weeks ago, since I ended up in that famous situation called <<I don’t know what to watch anymore>>. Well… Memories of Alhambra was not my best choice and I do not regret abandoning it after the first episode.

The whole idea of a very realistic video game seems terribly stupid to me, and watching Hyun Bin fighting the air in a European city, looking like he’s high or drunk… not really my cup of tea. Also, I’m starting to feel less inclined to watch any series where Park Shin Hye is the main female character… Like… Am I the only one sick of her never ending crying, sobbing and acting dumb or helpless? Can’t she have more characters like the one in Doctors? Am I asking for too much?

Now, we are breaking up

I love Jang Ki Yong, he’s such a talented actor, but he really has some pretty bad taste when it comes to choosing his projects… This one is probably one of his worst till now. Wait, no. Born Again is way worse than this one.

I’m sorry to whoever supports Song Hye Kyo, but this is only the second drama I’m watching where she is the main lead, but I am already sick and tired of her expressionless face. She’s just another beautiful face and nothing more… There’s no chemistry between the main leads, the plot is way too long and boring, the whole fashion industry theme overused to the extent of being mainstream… If this series was made for the mere goal of putting famous eye-candies on screen to divert the attention from the bad plot, they did a great job. The moment Sehun appeared in the picture, nobody remembers what happened before. It took me three episodes to quit and leave Now we are breaking up in the dust.

My Secret Hotel

Hancinema.com

I know that romanticizing bullies and toxic relationships is the trademark for Korean dramas. But this drama chose the crazy extreme with this theme. I felt uncomfortable the whole time I was watching those few episodes, and I still can’t believe that the writers did that in a way that should be considered funny and not disturbing.

An event planner (a very helpless, brainless, not-able-to-stand-for-herself woman) ends up organizing a wedding ceremony for her ex-boyfriend/husband (I’m still confused) at the hotel she works, but the bride runs away with another guy. The hotel’s management, so as not to lose <<reputation>>, forces the event planner woman to get married to her ex and she accepts… But chooses to keep it a secret from her actual boyfriend.

I don’t know about you… But it’s too much for me. I’ve never seen something like this going to that extent. It makes me sick.

Love Alert

Ugh, where should I even begin with this one? It’s been a while since I watched such a childish and boring plot… But what made me quit was actually the main actress. I can’t stand her face… at all. I know this sounds harsh, but, honestly, she’s so unlikable. If only her acting skills could save her… It’s no wonder her portfolio is not that impressive. She hasn’t been active since filming this drama, and I can’t say I feel bad for her…

I didn’t like her ever since Coffee Prince, and she didn’t manage to prove me wrong. She’s one of those actresses I won’t ever be able to like. And her role in this drama made me dislike her even more. He’s not amazing either. I kinda liked his role in The Duo, but I can’t say that he’s an actor that can play anything to make me want to watch him in more productions… Thank you, next.

Hospital Playlist

soompi.com

I don’t really get the hype around this drama. Maybe because of the music? I don’t really know. What I actually now is that it annoyed me a lot to the point I started asking myself if this is a joke or not.

I just don’t understand why those doctors have to be so… childish or even foolish at times… It just makes the whole drama look stupid. The OSTs are very good so I prefer listening to the songs online without watching the drama. I heard that there’s a second season two and a possible third one… WHY? Who asked for a second season?

I could manage to watch only 30 minutes of the first episode. Made me sleepy, chose to watch something else.

Bridal Mask

imdb.com

One of the reasons that convince me to watch this drama is because I heard there’s a lot of crying involved. And since I am a huge fan of dramas that make you bawl your eyes, I decided to give it a go.

I’m so sorry, but who the heck decided that Joo Won and Jin Se Yeon are the best choices for the main leads? Joo Won’s acting here is so cringey it makes your eyes bleed. He shouts more than necessary. Jin Se Yeon is known to be a very stiff actress that has the same facial expressions in almost every drama she was casted in.

Maybe the drama is well-written… But as long as there are those two as main leads, I prefer listening to my neighbors’ fights at 3 AM in the morning. They’re more entertaining.

The great doctor

pinterest

I chuckle every time I think about this drama. It’s that stupid. A soldier from Joseon era (I think) travels in time and arrives in the 21st century. They lost me there. I won’t even talk about the special effects because the plot is funny and idiotic enough to convince you that it’s not even worth finishing the first episode.

Lee Min Ho stopped being a good actor in my eyes since Legend of the Blue Sea. That was the moment I realized that his face was much more important than his acting skills. If you ever asked yourself why Lee Min Ho didn’t have any other roles in historical dramas, The Great Doctor is your answer.

Angry Mom

I won’t lie. I tried giving this drama another chance but it just doesn’t work for me. Even though the main plot (bullying, drama among students) has potential, a mother deciding to go to school and beat the crap out of underaged students is something that just doesn’t seem right.

It may look entertaining to see bullies getting what they deserve… But still, violence is never the answer.

There are some famous, handsome/pretty faces there, but it doesn’t really help the drama in any way. I watched four episodes, it lost me after the first two.

Honorable mentions:

Memorist

I’m usually a big fan of dramas produced after a Web comic, and even a bigger fan of mystery dramas. However, Memorist didn’t manage to amaze or surprise me. This drama is an exception, though. I watched six episodes (or nine? I don’t really remember) but then, at some point, it just became very boring.

Flower Boy Next Door

I literally have no idea what was in my mind when I decided to watch this drama. The plot is stupid, Park Shin Hye is so annoying here you wish you could punch her, and the rest of the cast is just plain boring. Maybe it was good when the never ending <<Rich, stupid boy, poor, dumb girl>> idea was popular, but nowadays? Nope. A true flop.

Personal Taste

I have to say that I am shocked at my own determination to give this drama as many chances as possible, but even after trying to watch it for the sixth time, I still can’t get pass the third episode. Personal Taste doesn’t bring anything new. It’s just another project among tons of other ones with similar, or almost the same, plot. Not a good project for Lee Min Ho and Son Ye Jin…

What’s that drama you couldn’t finish or just couldn’t watch after just a few episodes? I’m curious to know.”

That was all she wrote~

Published by Bianca Chis

Journalist and photographer from Sighiศ™oara, Romania.

One thought on “K-dramas that flopped from the beginning

  1. Bianca, you are Transylvania’s #1 upcoming writer, you’re great at writing! I loved your critique of these Korean dramas. I know I’ll see your great journalism articles one day in the future.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started